The Waterman Farm   Leave a comment

I am Adolf Waterman and this is my wife Sophie (Bunge) and two of our children, Emma and Adolf.  Both Sophie and I were born in Germany and emigrated with our parents and siblings to Missouri.  Our farm, you see pictured here, was near Blue Hill, Nebraska.  We purchased 200 acres from our son-in-law, Louis Kort Sr and my daughter Mary after we moved from Third Creek, Missouri in 1883.  We paid them $400 for the property.  We later sold the farm to my son-in-law, Jacob J Buss and my daughter Sophie in 1908 for  $16,875.

Sophie and I raised twelve children and lived into our 80’s.  The house and barn are no longer standing and all signs that we once lived there are gone now.  Only the stories live on…

The Waterman Farm by Terri J. Kallio

The Waterman Farm
by
Terri J. Kallio

 

Posted July 28, 2014 by Terri Kallio/Site Coordinator in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

